My Dream Cake

My friends are the absolute best. After a delicious Greek dinner, inclusive of gyros, tzatziki, and wine in Astoria to celebrate my birthday, they surprised me with a cake. Now for those of you who know me, you understand that I am quite fond of this thick, fluffy, sugary dessert. Others may use the term “obsessed” to describe this affection, but that seems a little critical to me. Since I have tried most of the well-known bakeries in the city that serve cake, my friends really had to consider where to purchase this one. With that being said, I am pleased to announce that they killed the game! Erika and Ashley landed on the famous Peanut Butter & Jelly Cake from Buttercup Bake Shop. Another fun fact about me, and one that I will admit, is that I really am OBSESSED with peanut butter. It is one of those foods that you wish you could combine with every meal of every day. So as you may be able to deduce, this cake flavor was the PERFECT decision. A yellow and slightly peanutty sponge paired with decadent peanut butter icing and layers of refreshing strawberry jam. The combo is definitely not one for those who are sensitive to sweetness, because man oh man is it intense! Good thing I can withstand, and even encourage, any amount of sugar in my desserts. They don’t call me Beasweets for nothing! Thank you, friends, for taking the time to pick out the cake of my dreams. Happy eating, everyone!

cake 2.png

Leave a comment